My Digital Literacy Journey

After graduating from polytechnic, I had a break. To improve myself, I applied for jobs using a document-based CV (Curriculum Vitae) – a job application instrument that my polytechnic trained me to do. Looking back, I realised how naïve I was!

 

I’m not saying that handing in a CV for a job application is bad, I’m saying that handing in a CV is not enough. Then, my social media accounts were spewing with my private life, with hardly anything business-related. Apart from the documents we send out, recruiters do look at our online profiles. Within minutes, employees are able to look up candidates’ social media accounts and conjure up an impression.

 

So like it or not, a professional digital profile is a requisite for employees today. With that in mind, I unified all my accounts with the same profile picture and description.

 

 

Square Face
Profile Picture used across my LinkedIn, Twitter and WordPress accounts.

I created my LinkedIn account from scratch.

LinkedIn Before
Before
Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 5.49.01 pm
After

 

Interestingly, a bulk of my past colleagues (from Viceroy Maldives) were on LinkedIn. After ending my internship, I came back to Singapore and lost contact with some of them. It was a delight being on LinkedIn, reconnecting with them now.

 

Connecting Naaz via LinkedIn

 

I revamped my Twitter account.

Previously, I contemplated creating a new account for this module, cordoning off my past personal tweets. However, I stuck to professionalizing my personal Twitter account, as I wanted to express my authentic views. (I did clean up my Twitter, deleting unprofessional information and following professional accounts of interests.) After all, if potential recruiters were to find me on Twitter, they can read my personal tweets to understand me and my lifestyle better.

Twitter Before
Before
Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 5.53.47 pm.png
After

 

Twitter Newsfeed
Personal & Professional Tweets

With Twitter, I gather swift and short news from the accounts I follow, when they tweet or retweet information. Therefore, by using my old account, I would still be in the same information-sharing loop. Twitter was where I first learned of the recent heart-breaking terrors around the world. From #PrayforParis and #BeirutBombings, I could instantly access updates of the situations from a personal or reported coverage.

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 6.40.34 pm.png
Professional & Verified accounts I follow
Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 11.34.23 pm.png
Business accounts following my Twitter

The world is indeed moving online.

 

When we meet people, we exchange contacts online.

When we do research, we type search details online.

When we consume goods, we read reviews online.

 

As much as there is an accelerated convenience living and working online, I personally believe that we need a pause in the technological advancements. I remember the Google Hangouts when the audio and Q&A section could not work. We were totally reliant on technology and had no alternatives but to restart the Google Hangout session. During times like this, we ought to learn to appreciate our lives offline.

 

Still, there’s no denying the good in Living and Working on the Web. With this module, I have learnt so much!

Self Test

In the self-test of my digital literacy, I made a significant improvement from 14★ s to 27★s. I made a video showing how I improved with this module. Check it out!

 

 

I’m working to continuously improve on my digital literacy, by expanding my online profile as a networking platform. There are so many more platforms where I’ve yet to create a presence, such as PathBrite, Weibo, Pinterest and more.

Let’s stay connected!Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 6.50.02 pmScreen Shot 2015-11-20 at 6.50.43 pm

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 6.50.14 pm

(523 words)

Leave a Reply

